Good bye

I was certain he would turn my way. He would look at me. He would flatten his ears. He would growl. In some such way, he would conclude our relationship. He did nothing of the sort…
…. I was weeping because Richard Parker had left me so unceremoniously. What a terrible thing to botch a farewell. I am a person who believes in form, in the harmony of order. where we can, we must give things a meaningful shape.. It’s important in life to conclude things properly. Only then you can let go, otherwise you are left with words you should have said but never did and your heart is heavy with remorse, that bungled good-bye hurts me to this day.. But I hope you will remember me as a friend. I will never forget you, that is certain. You will always be with me in my heart…So Farewell, God be with you..”

– Life of Pi- Yann Martel.

I met him three years back. I remember it was one April afternoon in coimbatore. When he was on his way to Bangalore from Chennai, That was the first time I met him. Never ever thought that our lives as friends would be so limited to such catching ups at random times when we’re on our way to something else. Life moves on and we made it a point to meet so.

Well It all happened with the one letter I sent when I was in my eight standard. I wrote a letter to my first pen pal through the Ink Links of Indian Express. He replied and we were friends from then. Our friendship grew with the years. It was odd meeting him in person after a long correspondence through letters and phone calls. He looked recklessly handsome with a careless cute smile which I grew fond of. The ease with which he approached when I was apprehensive about the meeting made him more special. He introduced me to his dad, who knew well everything of/about me.

He was my first pen friend and one of my good friends. He died last month. He was just 23. I heard the news from another common friend. I don’t understand/rather I don’t want to understand the rapidity of life. The instability and the uncertainty that makes this life shockingly rude.

The memories of our last days hits me with a painful numbness. I wish I made that one phone call or sent one mail. He was a friend and will be always be a friend to me. I can never forget his smile, his addiction to music and the way he passionately plays his guitar. He was such a natural when it comes to music, people and books, those titles, characters, quotes, plots, and anecdotes he remembers about books, people,places, events. He was an inspiration to me, a worst critic and the best mentor to my writings. His awesome sense of humor made him quite popular among his friends. I had met him only a few times, when he was in Coimbatore. Those evenings we have spent roaming in the streets, those dinners at posh restaurants and street side shops. Those book hunting’s, those mid-night walks n talks we had, The letters and mails he sent are the only memories I have of him now.

“If there are friends or family out there who you haven’t called in a while, I would say send them a note or a call. Life is always moving too fast,work is always waiting in a small box which we all call laptops and everyday emergencies are a part of it. But its far worse to sit in a room at early morning hours typing a blog, hoping that you got one last word with a loved one”Anu

I remember the song that he sung for me on his birthday, “Nalam Vazha en naallum en Vazthukal. Tamil Kurum pallandu en Vaarthaigal.” With Love. I wish You. May God be with you.
Bye da Vipin.. We will miss you.

addthis_pub = ‘barathwillbe’;
http://s7.addthis.com/js/152/addthis_widget.js

15 comments

  1. Bingo!!

    😦sad…the way it seems to last for eternity and one day u wake up to the fact its nomoreeverythin abt life- ppl, frens, family, love, sadness, happiness, peace, …..\its not fair.. but who r we to fite the fated destiny…

    Like

  2. Milinta

    Some people are snatched away from us cruelly but they stay forever in the memory. Often small mundane everyday things remind us of them in very special ways. We can only hope to find the strength to carry on in spite of the loss. Hope you find that strength Barath…

    Like

  3. Preethi

    At times as you said life is shockingly rude. Life is all about moving on. As Morrie says.Death ends a life, not a relationship.Sent you a mail.

    Like

  4. Raj

    Barath, I could feel u’r pain. Had personal experiences as such to match what you might be probably going thru. At times life is like that, the more questions you ask to it, the more puzzled answers you would get. The less questions asked, the better. May his soul rest in peace.RegardsRaj

    Like

  5. Rakesh Vanamali

    Barath My heartfelt condolences! Your very touching post moved me a great deal! Sadly, we human beings are left at the vagaries and mercies of nature without an arsenal to combat! I pray that God give you the strength to help come to terms with this tragic loss and also that his soul rest in peace! One wonders why it is that such things happen in the very first place, but the deeper we probe the lesser the reason and more intense the pain! Do keep writing, it will help you gain a very high perspective in life! SincerelyRakesh

    Like

  6. Anu

    I am really sorry about your loss. When I wrote those words, I wished no one else felt the pain that i felt at that moment. I’m sure Vipin valued your friendship the way you valued his.

    Like

  7. Jeevan

    My condolence and hugs to the hearts longing of vipin. Sometime the sudden lose of ones is not felt at moment, but later when we look for them it certainly gives suffer and sorrow. You friendship made me wonder, how coincident u met at similar times on your way. Let his memories ever last, and always sing u Nalam Vazha en Naallum en Vazthukal…

    Like

  8. Ritu

    I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a loved one is a bigger tragedy than any other.. I lost someone like Vipin, at about the same age to a mindless disease called meningitis. 14 years have passed, but his voice still rings in my ears…I pray to God to grant you the strength to endure this pain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

