an old man, a young man and life’s greatest lesson…

What does it mean to love someone? What does it mean to watch someone grow up before your eyes? or what does it mean to grow up with someone? Can one person mean so much in life? or for that matter Can one person change your life? There are some books that sneak right away into you, which can be there always with you, for you, to pour its meaning into you, when you are at cross-roads.

It is a story of a professor stricken with ALS, a neurological disease with no cause and cure. A professor who chose to come to terms with his imminent death. It is a chronicle of his tuesdays spent with a student. A student with whom, he could relate his very growing up days. His last classes with discussion about the truths of life, death, fear, love, society, regrets, marriage, family, aging, regrets, money, emotion, culture and a meaningful life.

The Last class of my old professor’s life had only one student. I was the student.

It is also the story of a successful sports journalist who lost in touch with his mentor, The story of someone who was caught in the materialistic entrapment of the world, just like us and lost the very basic humaness and the meaning of life as we proceed in the process of living a unlively life. Mitch Albom lost contact with what we perceived as life once. As he was flickering through TV channels, he heard his professor’s name and went numb.

The most wonderful thing about morrie is how he learnt to see humor even in his last days of life. He wrote bite-sized philosophies about living with death’s shadow.

” Accept what you are able to do and what you are not able to do.”
“Accept the past as past without denying it or discarding it.”
“Once you learn how to die, you learnt how to live.”
“Don’t assume that its too late to get involved.”

What can be worthiest thing that you can give someone?

“The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.”

When Morrie was with with you, he was really with you. he looked you staright in the eye asa if you were the only person in the world.
I believe in being fully present,” Morrie said, “That means you should be with the person you’re with.

Morrie talks about culture.

” The culture we have does not make people feel good about themselves. And you have to be strong enoughj to say if the culture doesn’t work, don’t buy it.”
“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things like they think are important. This is because they are chasing the wrong things. The way you let meaning into your life is to devote yourself and loving others, devote yourself yo your community around you and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.”

The story moves in narration from the past conversations between “The Coach” and “The Player”, their growing up stories and events that had affected their lives. An enoughly engaging and haunting narration of how one person can make a difference in someone’s life.

It was an accident that I chose this book, one lazy noon with nothing to do, visited a nearby book exhibition, took it by the mere attraction of the title. Never Knew that I wouldn’t be the same person anymore. I cried along with Mitch and fought back my tears to keep reading. I cried for Morrie, Morrie’s family and friends, I cried for me, I Cried for my Teacher…..

What can be life’s greatest lesson?

It doesnt matter to me,
That I didn’t crack up an entrance exam for a professional course.
If I dont become a professional in life,
If I don’t get a packaged job,
If I don’t wear Allen Sally’s on fridays,
If I don’t get to wear Addidas or Nike,
If I don’t hang out in Baristas or dine in McDonalds.
If I don’t spend my weekends in European Seashores.
If I don’t holiday in Mahindra holiday clubs
If I don’t own a Apache or drive a Mercedes Benz,
If I don’t make it like Chetan Bhagat.

The most important thing to me in life is. I was that important somebody in someone’s life in their growing-up days. That’s sums up everything in life.

Have you really had that someone? or were you ever been that someone to anyone?

P.S: Never tried a book review before, well as you know me, It’s not in me to review things. I rather greatly beleive in personalized reviews. So it is your comments and how far you have been inspired/influenced/persuaded/cajoled/tempted to read the book that really matters.
Still If not convinced, Bricks, Bats (Preferably Hockey), Rotten eggs and tomatoes most welcome.

For further readings:
Tuesdays with Morrie
Another Review

http://s7.addthis.com/js/152/addthis_widget.js

11 comments

  1. Animated Junk

    i remember readin it a long time bak. I remember the tear that weeled up in my eyes. I hated to turn to the next chapter cos it wud near morrie’death.the book is one of those which can touch any kinda person. Anyone and everyone can relate to the words.ur review is jus damn good. It doesnt jus feel like a review, more like the book itself.makes me wanna pick up the book again.“The most important thing to me in life is. I was that important somebody in someone’s life in their growing-up days. That’s sums up everything in life. Have you really had that someone? or were you ever been that someone to anyone?”this is the question that haunts me the most.tryin to figure it out …

    Like

  2. raj

    Barath, Good one. Have you read Lance Armstrong’s Its not about the bike?. A good read that is. Hmmm. i will add it to the to-do read list. Not inclined to read a heart wrenching book right now.As far as the review is concerned. Straight , simple and served the purpose of exposing a book to your readers.

    Like

  3. Vignesh

    U know my views bout the book..And thanks from the heart da, thanks for making me aware, thanks for making Morrie so special for me, thanks 4 letting me learn the life’s greatest lesson i.e living..

    Like

  4. The Seeker

    @ Uma Kumar, Thanks for dropping by sis, do read this book… @aniThanks yaar! please do read the book…@Rahul,Soon read the book…@Mirrorcracked,Thanks a ton Nikhil…@Animated junk,The one book, I read often, the one I run into evrytime when i’m cross roads in time, the one i read when i feel lost, and To that question, I personally beleive that eveyone is placed here on this earth for that single purpose, As Morrie quotes, “Love each other or perish.”@Raj,Bro, hve read that book, One of the books I love to read often, Well they all come under the genre,”Life support” on Cancer Communities, also try these books, “God I promise to be a good girl”, If by Ritu, Thoughts by NAncyu gradiner, Cancer made me by Kasturi sreenivasan, Please remember me by marie Brady..All these books speak about the most inevitable thing, death and how people chose to come to terms with death…Indeed they are the heart-wrenching books…they have a purpose as JK says, “To show what life around you is..”

    Like

  5. The Seeker

    @Vignesh,thanks 4 letting me learn the life’s greatest lesson i.e living..I suppose I don’t need that. Anyways your choice of words is good, letting me learn…. Just reminded of CRS ma’m…

    Like

  6. Anonymous

    I Remember reading here, when you talked about Anne Frank,can you write something on that esp the Nazi, holocuast and the girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

